Mental Health Laws from all UK Jurisdictions

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapterpeer-review


Mental health law in the UK operates within three legal jurisdictions: England and Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. Each jurisdiction has its own distinct laws governing the care and treatment of adults with mental disorder. Although these laws have broadly similar functions, they can be markedly different in substance and practice. This chapter provides an overview of the legal framework that governs the treatment and care of older adults with mental disorder and mental disability in the UK. It then describes the formal civil powers that exist in law to compulsorily detain and treat older people in hospital for mental disorder, and how these laws compare across the different jurisdictions of the UK.
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationClinical Topics in Old Age Psychiatry
EditorsJulian C. Hughes, Philippa Linford
Place of PublicationCambridge
PublisherCambridge University Press
Number of pages14
ISBN (Electronic)9781108594714
ISBN (Print)9781108706148
Publication statusPublished - 1 Sept 2020

Publication series

NameClinical Topics in
PublisherCambridge University Press


Dive into the research topics of 'Mental Health Laws from all UK Jurisdictions'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this